How to Delete My Yahoo Messenger Account and Contacts?

Yahoo Messager is one of the most loved features offered by Yahoo. Yahoo Messenger helps users to communicate with their friends and family members. Yahoo Messenger lets users send instant messages to people absolutely free. You can operate Yahoo Messenger on Computers, MAC books, iOs, and android mobile phones very easily.

This article is going to be all about how users can delete their Yahoo Messenger account and also the Contacts from their Yahoo Messenger. Sometimes there are people whom you wish not to contact in the future or you want to delete the conversations you had with him/her so that no one can know about your interaction. To do the same you can delete that contact from your Yahoo Messenger.

People who wish to quit using Yahoo Messenger and even if they want to take a break from it they can delete their Account on Yahoo Messenger. In this article, we will discuss all these things in detail and we will try to answer all your questions.

You Might Be Like This Topic: how can i find my yahoo password without changing it

How to Delete My Yahoo Messenger Account and Contacts

What Will Happen If You Delete your Yahoo Messenger Account?

If you decide to delete your Yahoo Messenger account then you need to know that all your Yahoo Account settings will be deleted, all your messages, all your photographs, and other data will be deleted. If you have decided to delete your account permanently then make sure that you have a backup of all your data.

Steps to Delete your Yahoo Messenger Account:

  1. Sign in to your Yahoo account termination page with the help of your ID and password.
  2. Readout all the instructions and information on the home page and press Continue.
  3. Provide your email address to confirm that you want to delete your Yahoo account.
  4. Now click on the Yes, Terminate my Account tab.
  5. Click on the Got It button to confirm that your account is deleted.
  6. After that, a confirmation email will be sent to your regarding the deletion of your Yahoo Messenger account.

Now your Yahoo Messenger account is deleted you can no longer operate your account.

  • When you submit a request to delete your Yahoo Messenger account it takes about 30 days for Yahoo to accept your request. Although in some countries it can take up to 180 days. The time to delete your account totally depends on your location. Once your account is permanently deleted after that, if someone tries to send you an email then the email will be bounced back with a delivery failure message.
  • If you wish to activate your account again after deleting the account you can do the same within 30 days only. After that, your account will be deleted permanently. To reactivate your account, you just need to log in to your account and your account will be reactivated. You will start receiving all the emails again but you will not be able to receive the emails that were sent to you at the time of deactivation of your account.

How to delete Contacts on Yahoo Messenger?

You can access Yahoo Messenger on both Android and iPhone. Deleting your contacts on Yahoo Messenger is very easy.

Steps to delete on Yahoo Messenger Contacts on Android:

  1. Open Yahoo Messenger on your Android device.
  2. Login to your account.
  3. Tap on the people icon on the home screen.
  4. Look for the All People tab and click on it.
  5. From the options available click on the Information icon next to the person’s name, you want to delete.
  6. Now click on Remove Contact to delete the contact.
  7. Now do the same process with the contacts you wish to delete.
  8. Click on Confirm to delete the account.

After that, the contact will delete from your Yahoo Messenger permanently.

Steps to delete Yahoo Messenger Contacts on iPhone?

Mentioned below are the steps to delete your contacts on iPhone:

  1. Open Yahoo Messenger on iOs.
  2. Login to your Yahoo Messenger ID.
  3. Tap on the profile icon on the top left corner of your home page.
  4. Tap on the “People” tab.
  5. Look for the “Upload Contacts” option.
  6. To disable access to your contacts, tap on the “Turn Off” button.
  7. Now click on Remove Contact to delete the contact.
  8. Now do the same process with the contacts you wish to delete.
  9. Click on Confirm to delete the account.

You can also choose the delete all contacts option if you wish to delete all your contacts in one go.

Steps to delete Yahoo Messenger Contacts on Desktop:

  1. Open Yahoo Messenger in your web browser.
  2. Log in to your account.
  3. Choose the contact you want to delete.
  4. Click on the Settings icon along with the contact that you wish to delete.
  5. Click on the Remove contact option from the drop-down menu.
  6. Now click on Confirm button to delete the contact.

You Might Be Like This Topic: How to Export Yahoo Calendar to Google Calendar?

Conclusion

We have covered all the related topics on How to Delete your Yahoo Messenger account and your contacts. If you have any doubt related to the article you can comment down below and we will respond to you as soon as possible. If you think this article was helpful then do let us know in the comment section.